Blogging, as well as nearly everything else, has been on hold these past two weeks for Thanksgiving and then an all-out push to complete a painting. 

We enjoyed a very pleasant Thanksgiving this year.  Unfortunately, my dad had to work; however, our “in-town” relatives and a couple of friends spent the day with us.  After all the preparations were complete, we enjoyed a delicious meal and fellowship around the table. 

Children’s Table (and Cromwell)

Dining Room Table

Thanksgiving Dinner

Dyson

After dinner we all retreated to the living room to sing hymns and count our many blessings.  We especially missed Kenny during this time.  He always brings a spirit of liveliness to any gathering.  (I hope you had a good Thanksgiving in Iraq, Kenny!)

Grandma

Miss Martha

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Grandpa, Aunt Jean, Josh

Jaime and Skylar

Ashley (tuning the guitar)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mama

 Josh, Ashley, Vida, Aunt Jane

Daddy, Home from Work

The week after Thanksgiving, I spent nearly every free minute trying to finish the Gerber Family portrait.  It has been in my studio far too long.

Finally, after countless hours of work, the portrait was finished!  To prepare the painting for delivery the next morning, my dad and I took it outside to spray on a temporary, protective varnish.  Suddenly I realized that Mr. Gerber’s eye, which I had worked on late into the night the previous day, had vanished.  Upon closer inspection, it became apparent that the varnish had caused several areas of wet paint to bleed.  All that work ruined in few moments time.  I was devastated.  We canceled our trip to Greenville to deliver the painting, and now, I must return back to the easel to repair the damage. 

God has a purpose in this set-back, as well as all the delays I have faced with the delivery of this painting over the past several months.  I must trust Him and be faithful in the tasks He has given me to accomplish. 

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

 

 

 

